









TELANGANA STATE BIODIVERSITY BOARD UNEP – GEF – MoEF&CC-ABS Project

"Strengthening the Implementation of the Biological Diversity Act and Rules with focus on its Access and Benefit Sharing Provisions"

Introduction about the project

The Telangana State Biodiversity Board is implementing UNEP-GEF-MoEF&CC-ABS Project title -"Strengthening the Implementation of the Biological Diversity Act and Rules with focus on its Access and Benefit Sharing Provisions". The GEF project on ABS is the first ever global project - a programmme to access genetic resources, assess their economic value and share the benefits arising out of them among the local people. The project aims to assess and quantify the economic value of biological resources at local, state and national levels using appropriate methodologies to determine benefit sharing which will help in better implementation of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002 and its Rules 2004. This project is being implemented in the 12 states of India namely Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, West Bengal, Himachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Karnataka, Goa, Orissa, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Delhi and Telangana and it is funded by Global Environmental Facility (GEF) and Government of India. The executing organisation is National Biodiversity Authority (NBA) in collaboration with 12 SBBs.

Report on training programme to the Biodiversity Management Committees held on 30-04-2015 at TSBDB, Hyderabad

Under the project the Board created awareness to the local bodies and constituted 35 BMCs in 10 districts of Telangana State. As part of the project activity the Board organized a training programme on 30-04-2015 at TSBDB, Hyderabad.

Dr. C. Suvarna, IFS, Member Secretary, Telangana State Biodiversity Board welcomed the gathering and briefed about the provisions of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002, Rules for access to biological resources and/ or associated knowledge for research or bio-survey and bio-utilization for research, and highlighted the need for conservation of biological resources from the exploitation. The Member Secretary shared various experiences and interacted with the members of the BMC.

After that Mr. G. Sailu, State Project Coordinator gave a brief presentation on Biological Diversity Act, Rules and ABS guidelines. He explained about the functions of the BMC as per the Biological Diversity Act. He also mentioned that if any biological resources are accessed by the industry for commercial purpose, the company should take the prior approval of the SBB.

After that Mr. V. Linga Rao, RBC-1, TSBDB, gave a brief presentation on the conservation of medicinal plants and their importance.

Then, Mr. B. Ravi Kiran Reddy, Social Expert briefed about the importance and process of documenting the traditional knowledge and their role in preparation of People's Biodiversity Registers.

Dr. Shilpi Bhardwaj, Women scientist, TSBDB, by briefed on the livelihood generation from fisheries. The training programme was concluded after the interactive session.

The list of BMCs Chairman and Member secretaries present during the meeting:

S.N	BMC Name	Mandal,	District	BMC Members	Designatio
0				Name	n
1.	Namapuram	Marri Guda	Nalgonda	K. Vasanatha	Chairman
				Laxmi	
2.	Namapuram	Marri Guda	Nalgonda	J.Bala Raju	Secretary
3.	Namapuram	Marri Guda	Nalgonda	G.Venkatesh	Member
4.	Kukatlapally	Kowdipalle	Medak	M.D.Jakira Begam	Chairman
5.	Kukatlapally	Kowdipalle	Medak	J. Narsimhulu	Member
6.	Kukatlapally	Kowdipalle	Medak	J Lasmaiah	Member
7.	Bollaram	Gurrampodu	Nalgonda	R.Manjula	Chairman
8.	Bollaram	Gurrampodu	Nalgonda	R.Narasimha Rao	Member
9.	Masan Palle	Kalher	Medak	B Ruben	Member
10.	Rajaram	Thirumalayapalem	Khammam	K Madhu Sudhana	Chairman
				Reddy	
11.	Rajaram	Thirumalayapalem	Khammam	Gundala Mallaiah	Secretary
12.	Venkatapuram	Nekkonda	Warangal	Vangala Babu	Chairman
13.	Kotta Lingala	Kamepalle	Khammam	P Nageswar Rao	Secretary
14.	Marigidi	Jangaon	Warangal	E Saritha Srinivas	Chairman
15.	Yerragollapahad	Jangaon	Warangal	B Chandram	Chairman
16.	Yerragollapahad	Jangaon	Warangal	Ch Bhoopal Reddy	Secretary
17.	Jeelacheruvu	Kusumanchi	Khammam	K Yellamma	Chairman
18.	Jeelacheruvu	Kusumanchi	Khammam	B Veerababu	Secretary
19.	Jeelacheruvu	Kusumanchi	Khammam	G Muttaiah	Member
20.	Vinobha Nagar	Julurpad	Khammam	S Sudhakar	Secretary
21.	Seethanagaram	Guduru	Warangal	J Mali	Chairman
22.	Seethanagaram	Guduru	Warangal	M Venkanna	Member

Photo Gallery













